JVSD Community Gardens - Volunteers Needed

Dear Friends of JVSD,
Did you know PLANTS VOLUNTEER? Yup! “Volunteers” are the plants that grow in a garden without having been intentionally planted there. They just show up.


And so it is with the community members who help take care of the plants in our JV Community Gardens every summer. Each week a different volunteer family “shows up” at school to check on our plants to be sure they have enough water.

Please consider volunteering to help water the plants in our
JV Community Gardens
this summer.

For the summer of 2019 I request that you please consider choosing one of the following eight weeks during which you and your family or friends would commit to watering our gardens on days when it does not rain and weeding the gardens as needed.

I will meet you at school on the first day of your week and will show you where the hoses are kept and how to access the water. If there were a day when you couldn't make it, you could call me, and I'd fill in for you. My cell number is 814-386-7435.

If you are able to participate in this community project this summer, please contact me at grugan2@gmail.com. Thank you very much.

Sincerely,
Pam Grugan
JV Sustainability Club Advisor

Week #1: Monday, June 17 - Sunday, June 24
Week #2: Monday, June 24 - Sunday, June 30
Week #3: Monday, July 1 - Sunday, July 7
Week #4: Monday, July 8 - Sunday, July 14
Week #5: Monday, July 15 - Sunday, July 21
Week #6: Monday, July 22 - Sunday, July 28    Volunteer #6
Week #7: Monday, July 29 - Sunday, August 4
Week #8: Monday, August 5 - Sunday, August 11
Week #9: Monday, August 12 - Sunday, August 18    Volunteer #9
Week #10: Monday, August 19 – Sunday, August 25

 





Back to School News      Print News Article